Phone symbol means someone is watching you – World News

Phone symbol means someone is watching you

Google is warning millions of users when they may be spied on. These are symbols that mean someone is watching you.

Google is warning millions of Android users when apps are spying on them.

The new feature alerts users when the microphone or camera is activated.

This is similar to a warning already present on Apple’s rival iPhone.

The Google feature was added to the phone in the latest Android 12 update, Sun Report.

So if you don’t have that, you won’t be able to see it.

The new indicator appears in the upper right corner of the screen.

You’ll see a camera or microphone icon when an app tries to access, respectively.

This prevents apps from secretly listening to — or even seeing — your camera.

You can also view a rolling log of which apps have access to your camera, microphone or location – and when.

That information is available in the new Privacy Dashboard within Settings.

It is now even possible to completely deactivate your microphone and camera on the whole phone in your quick settings.

It is worth remembering that just looking at an icon does not mean that anything nefarious is happening.

Sometimes an app really needs to use your camera – like Instagram.

But if you see that your camera is being used by a strange app, it could mean that you are being spied on.

Cyber-experts have uncovered countless apps that have inappropriately accessed the camera on Android phones.

So make sure you’re using Android 12, and that you beware of any glitches.

If you suspect that something is wrong, you should check the permissions of the app in Settings.

For example, you can deny specific apps access to your microphone or camera.

And if you’re really worried, you can delete the app entirely.

fear of spying

The fear that apps are spying on you has been around for years.

Just last year, iPhone camera alerts sparked fears that Instagram was secretly filming users — but that was just a bug.

Several Facebook users say they’ve talked something out loud, only to see related ads appear on the app soon.

These users claim that they have never discovered this kind of content before, and the only possible explanation is snooping.

Users believe Facebook is using your phone’s microphone to listen in on real-world conversations – to aid with targeted ads. But is it true?

Facebook has been very clear in this matter, and says that it is not using microphone recordings to better target ads.

“Facebook does not use your phone’s microphone to inform ads or change what appears in News Feed,” a company spokesperson said.

“Some recent articles have suggested that we should listen to people’s conversations to show them relevant advertising. This is not true.

“We show ads based on people’s interests and other profile information – not what you’re talking about out loud.

“We are only able to access your microphone if you have given permission to our app and if you are actively using a specific feature that requires audio.

“This may include recording a video or using an optional feature we introduced two years ago to include music or other audio in your status updates.”

Beyond rumors and anecdotes there has never been any solid proof that Facebook is recording your real life conversations.

However, it’s entirely possible that other rogue apps could be listening in on what you’re doing.

So Google’s new feature is the perfect defense for dodgy apps that play fast and loose with your privacy.

This article was originally from . was published by Sun and reproduced with permission

Read related topics:Google

,

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *