Buck O’Neil, Gil Hodges and Minnie Minoso Elected to Hall of Fame – World News

Buck O’Neil, Gil Hodges and Minnie Minoso Elected to Hall of Fame

There are six new members to the Baseball Hall of Fame, including Buck O’Neill, Gil Hodges, Minnie Minoso, Tony Oliva, Jim Catt and Bud Fowler, on Sunday a set of committees assigned to review earlier eras in the game’s history. Chosen by the pair.

The strong group consisted of many people who were seen as thugs in the past. Only two of the six, Oliva and Kat, are still alive.

O’Neill, the founder of the Negro League Baseball Museum, was a star first baseman in the Negro Leagues who spent decades surrounding professional baseball as a manager and scout. minoso was Widely considered baseball’s first Latino star In a career that began in the Negro Leagues and continued for several decades and accompanied him mostly to the Chicago White Sox, he excelled.

Hodges was a star first baseman for the Brooklyn and Los Angeles Dodgers, known for his bat and his gloves, as manager of the team that led the 1969 Miracle Mets to the World Series title. An outfielder and three-time batting champion, Oliva played his entire 15-season career with the Minnesota Twins.

A left-handed pitcher, Katt won 283 games and 16 Gold Gloves before a successful broadcast career, and Fowler, whose career began in the 1870s, was a pioneer in many respects, considered by many to be the first black player. Have played organized baseball against white players.

O’Neill, Minoso and Fowler are the first players to have played in the Negro Leagues since being included. A special committee selected 17 people from those leagues in 2006. While many had pushed for all three to be included for decades, a wave of enthusiasm for their candidates came when Major League Baseball announced last year that it would Identify Some Negro Leagues Being the major league.

as opposed writers’ ballot, which is now being voted on, whose results will be announced on January 25, Sunday’s results came from the Early Baseball Era committee, which was reviewing players from before 1950, and the Golden Days Era committee, which ran from 1950 to 1969. Till was reviewing the players. ,

The Golden Days committee selected Minoso, Hodges, Kat and Oliva. The Early Days Committee elected O’Neill and Fowler.

10 finalists were considered by each of 16-person committees, with a player required to have at least 12 votes to join. Key players reviewed by committees but not elected were Dick Allen, a slugger for the Philadelphia Phillies and Chicago White Sox, who failed to secure election from the Golden Days committee and Lefty O’Doll, two-time batting champion . Which was passed by the Early Days Committee.

The Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022, which will include six Sunday selections and any players selected on the writers’ ballot, will be inducted on July 24 in a ceremony in Cooperstown, NY.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *